Pumpkin tagliatelle with bacon, feta & mushroom

One pan meals are all the rage, and I am all for it!

I hate washing up, because without wanting to sounding superficial, it always messes my nails up! I am just being realistic here people. These one pan meals are so quick and easy and leave very little to clean up. And lets be honest, once we have eaten, that dirty oven pan can go straight back into the oven and stay there for a few days anyway.

I actually created this one pan meal by accident, and boy is it the best accident I’ve had all year. Also, can we have a moment of silence for pumpkin? It must be the most underrated food out there. It is versatile, full of Vit A, low in carbs and calories, and just so yum. I have been adding it to oats, smoothies, salads, stews… so everything really. Don’t be shocked if my skin starts to turn a bit orange soon (guys this is a real thing – it has happened before when I ate an excessive amount of carrots).

img_1212-2

Anyway, back to this meal! You can basically buy all the ingredients already prepped, chuck them onto the pan, and 20 minutes later you have a flavoursome meal.

img_1219-2

The recipe below is what I used, because it fulfils my personal nutritional requirements, but if you are on a high fat/keto diet then obviously adapt it by using full fat feta, fatty bacon and all the olive oil your heart desires. As it stands, it is a low calorie, high protein, moderate fat, low carb and nutrient dense meal. I also thought it would be nice to added some chopped spinach or broccoli to the mix but I didn’t have any, so add some if you want to get those greens in!

Pumpkin tagliatelle with bacon, feta & mushroom

  • Servings: 4
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Quick and easy meal that is nutritious as it is delicious!

  • Low GI – Low carb -Gluten free

Ingredients

  • 600g pumpkin tagliatelle (or spiralized pumpkin)
  • 200g reduced fat diced bacon
  • 150g fat free feta
  • chopped mushrooms (as desired)
  • 1 chopped onion
  • roughly chopped sage
  • salt and pepper to season
  • olive oil for drizzling (optional)

Directions

Place the diced bacon into a dish and precook for 10 minutes in the oven at 180 degrees. Using your oven pan, spread the pumpkin tagliatelle out evenly. Added the chopped onions, mushrooms, feta and sage. Add the bacon, and then season with salt and pepper. Drizzle with olive oil if desired. Cook in the oven for 20 minutes at 180 degrees, turing it up to grill for the last 3 minutes if you want to get those toppings extra crispy!

Leave a comment